JackieB.jpg

Member Spotlight: Jacqueline Berrios

Let’s get to know YOU!

Name: Jacqueline Berrios

Any nicknames? Jackie

Age: 28 years young

Hometown: Katy, TX

Profession: Certified Veterinarian Assistant, Certified Phlebotomist

Fitness Background: I played soccer in high school and I did a lot of endurance running before I started CrossFit, but that’s about it.

Favorite non-gym way to be active: Rock climbing or running.

Favorite hobby: Shopping, lol, all the kinds!

One thing you wish you were better at: Parking in reverse.

Favorite health tip you actually use: Eat all the greens and drink all the water. I track all the foods I consume as well, out of habit.

Team healthy replacements for indulgent food or just eat the real stuff? Team healthy replacements for indulgent food because the replacements nowadays are almost equivalent in taste.

Describe yourself in a color: Gray. Simple. Mellow. My toes are painted gray too :)

Biggest health and fitness goal: To feel great internally and accept my body in whichever season it is in.

Best music to workout to: Anything but country, really.

Now the nitty-gritty workout stuff...

When did you first try CrossFit and what made you want to try it? Like 7 years ago. I used to run A LOT and I ran past Crossfit Elevate at it’s first location. I saw what I know now was the coaches doing a workout that consisted of squat cleans and burpee pull-ups and I was totally intimidated. They looked badass... so I decided to go back and check it out and I’ve been doing it ever since.

What makes you stick with CrossFit? It NEVER gets easy and it’s ALWAYS different. You get a taste of various exercises like powerlifting, weightlifting, gymnastics, bodybuilding, etc.

Favorite movement: Burpees. It’s a full body workout you can do anywhere!

Least favorite movement/something that’s hard for you: Muscle Ups are hard. They’re intimidating. I can get them one day, and the next day I can’t get one.

What gets you through tough workouts? Knowing there’s an end.

What keeps you motivated? I’m grateful I get to workout. There’s a lot of people in this world who can’t for many reasons. Knowing I can is what keeps me moving and motivated.

Proudest Elevate moment to date? BACK IN THE DAY: getting my first kipping pull-up. NOW: learning how to butterfly my pull-ups. It took me many years to master those lol. Also, PR’ing my deadlift because that was always my weakest lift.

Hobbies outside of killing it at the gym: Hanging out with my family. We enjoy going to the movies a lot.

Changes you’ve seen from working out at Elevate: Strength gainzzz!

How has CrossFit helped you outside of the gym: Physically, it has helped with picking up and putting down heavy objects easier, and by objects I mean big fluffy dogs. :) My job can be physically demanding, but with the strength I've acquired doing CrossFit it’s made it super easy for me to handle. Mentally, it’s helped build my self-confidence a lot.

How do you balance working out with family life? Well, Dave and I both led very active lives when we met, so to us working out is part of our lifestyle. Instead of balancing, we work out together. Our son is a little too young for CrossFit, but as he gets older it’s definitely something we’d want him to dabble in as well.

What’s your favorite part of bringing your kid(s) to the gym? Having him observe that exercise is habitual and commonplace and also enjoyable. I want it to be part of his life as well.

One lesson that you’ve learned from your time at Elevate that you’ll take with you from here on out: Mondays are for squats.

Why CrossFit Elevate? It was the first CrossFit gym I ever went to and from the get go, proper form was always imperative and I always liked that. Luke was my coach from day 1 and I learned an abundance from him. I feel like I grew with CrossFit Elevate, from 7 years ago to now.